An official Path Through History Site! Built in 1824, enlarged in 1840 and 1888, and abandoned in 1918, Lock 33 was part of the original Erie Canal, which stretched 363 miles from the Hudson River to Lake Erie, creating an all water route to the interior of the continent. The Erie Canal was an immediate success and within ten years New York began expanding the waterway. The Enlarged Erie Canal Lock 33 helped to speed the flow of goods and people across the region. Today, the lock is accessible and its history is interpreted through on site signage.