Menu
placeholder
Back To Previous

Finger Lakes

Howland Stone Store Museum

Phone: (315) 364-8307

In 1837 Slocum Howland built this store in Sherwood, a crossroads between Cayuga and Owasco Lakes to the west and east and Auburn and Ithaca to the north and south. Cayuga Lake gave it easy access to the Erie Canal. Our collection details the sale of local products such as wool and pork, and importation of manufactured products. The building is made of small stones called cobblestones, which were picked up in local fields.